Primary Menu
Woodbridge players listen to head coach Joe LaSala after an opening round playoff win over North Hunterdon on Novembmer 8, 2019. (Photo by Tim Catalfamo)

The Woodbridge Barrons swept WCTC’s two postseason awards for 2019, after a 10-1 season that hit all kinds of milestones and shattered some records.

Woodbridge’s Anthony Santino, Jahmir Brown and Ali Lee, Jr. wait to talk to the media after a 21-20 win over New Brunswick on Friday, October 25, 2019. (Photo: Mike Pavlichko)

Woodbridge was the Number One team in the final Top Ten of the season and took Team of the Year honors, while Joe LaSala was named Coach of the Year.

The Barrons finished 10-1 on the season, their lone loss coming to Northern Highlands in the North Jersey, Section 1, Group 4 Championship Game.  The ten wins are a school record in a single season.  It was their first appearance in a title game since 1997, when they won a Central Jersey Group 4 crown.  Their Blue Division title also was their first divisional title of any kind since 1993.

En route, junior runingback Ali Lee Jr. became the school’s single-season rushing leader with 1,873 in 2019, while he also became the school’s all-time leading rusher with 2,767 yards, and set five other Barrons records this year.

Following is the final Top Ten of 2019, with each team followed by record and previous rank.

  1.  Woodbridge (10-1, 1)
  2.  Somerville (11-1, 3)
  3.  North Brunswick (9-2, 2)
  4.  Ridge (8-2, 5)
  5.  Hillsborough (8-3, 10)
  6.  St. Joseph-Metuchen (8-2, 4)
  7.  Montgomery (8-2, 7)
  8.  Old Bridge (8-1, 6)
  9.  Bernards (8-2, 8)
  10.  Middlesex (8-2, 9)

Notes:  #1 Woodbridge was the GMC Blue Division Champion, a North 1 Group 4 Finalist, and the WCTC Team of the Year.  #2 Somerville was the Mid-State Mountain Division Champion, and a South Jersey Group 3 Finalist.  #3 North Brunswick was the GMC White Division Champion.  #7 Montgomery was a three-way Mid-State Raritan Division Co-Champion.  #8 Old Bridge was the GMC Red Division Champion.  #10 Middlesex was the GMC Gold Division Champion.